The Oscar Peterson Trio "We Get Requests" 1 x LP Gatefold [All Analog - 180g Verve Acoustic Sounds Series]

Regular price $37.00


  • 1 x LP 180g Black Vinyl
  • Audio Source:  Analog Tape
  • Lacquers: Ryan K Smith / Sterling Sound
  • Plating & Pressing: Quality Record Pressing
  • Print & Paper: Gatefold Tip-On Jacket by Stoughton Printing
  • Original Release Date: 1964

This LP has been reissued several times over the years but this new reissue is the one to own!                                                                                                                             

When Jim Davis started producing records at Verve, he changed the company's recording philosophy toward its most prolific instrumentalist. Where Norman Granz had produced countless Oscar Peterson albums dedicated to the popular song, Davis was more interested in making albums closer to how the Peterson trio sounded live.

By then the Peterson trio with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen had been together for five years and performed like a well-oiled machine. Listeners here are treated to mostly pop songs of the day, including bossa nova tunes and film themes, and the treatments are fairly brief, with emphasis placed squarely on the melodies.

Originally released in 1964.

Oscar Peterson, piano
Ray Brown, bass
Ed Thigpen, drums

Listen Now