Various - The Truth Is A Lie: American Soul Music 2xLP [Cairo Records]

Regular price $26.00

Stunning compilation of great soul songs. The third part in a series of compilations following a similar logic as Harry Smith's Anthology Of American Folk Music - only where Smith covered folk, blues, gospel and old timey, this compilation covers just American soul music recorded between 1962 and 1975. Many deep ballads and a few rockers. Features extensive 12 page liner notes with lots of photos. Cover has gold foil printing, and the records are housed in classy black sleeves. Super fancy limited edition double LP not to be missed!


A1 Ural Thomas Pain Is The Name Of Your Game
A2 Aaron Neville Let's Live
A3 Ernie K Doe* Reapin' What I Sow
A4 Wallace Brothers* Thin Line Between Love And Hate
A5 Irma Thomas Ruler Of My Heart
A6 The Invincibles (2) Heart Full Of Love
B1 Raw Spitt Song To Sing
B2 Willie West The Greatest Love
B3 Marvin L. Sims Danger
B4 Betty Green (3) He's Down On Me
B5 Pearl Woods Think Of Poor Me
B6 Earl Connelly I Feel A Little Lonely
C1 Reuben Bell Too Late
C2 Jerry Butler I'm A Tellin' You
C3 Barbara West Anybody But You
C4 Eddie Floyd I've Just Been Feeling Bad
C5 Howard Tate I Learned It All The Hard Way
C6 Bettye Swann Don't Look Back (demo)
D1 Mickey Murray Lonely Room
D2 Clay Hammond I'll Make It Up To You
D3 Doris Allen Shell Of A Woman
D4 James Carr I Don't Want To Be Hurt Anymore
D5 Jimmy Holiday The Turning Point
D6 Nina Simone Stars