Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers "First Flight To Tokyo: The Lost 1961 Recordings" 2 x LP [All Analog] [Blue Note ]


  • Slow Down Select - hand picked by Grover
  • Genre: Jazz, Hard Bop
  • 2 x LP 180g Black Vinyl
  • Audio Source: Analog Tape
  • Lacquers: Bernie Grundman
  • Plating & Pressing: Record Technology, Inc.
  • Print & Paper: Gatefold Sleeve - Stoughton Printing
  • Original Release Date: 2021
Recorded live at Hibiya Public Hall, Tokyo, Japan, January 14, 1961. Drum legend Art Blakey with a classic line-up of the Jazz Messengers, featuring trumpeter Lee Morgan, tenor saxophonist Wayne Shorter, pianist Bobby Timmons, and bassist Jymie Merritt. 
Never before released limited edition double-LP includes 6 collector postcards, a 16-page insert with rare photo essay, exclusive interviews with Wayne Shorter, Lou Donaldson and more. 

    Listen Now

    Customer Reviews

    Based on 4 reviews Write a review