J Jazz Volume 3 - Deep Modern Jazz From Japan - Various [3 x LP 150g Incredible Package]

Regular price $44.00

 Label: BBE Music  2021 Reissue

Original: miscellaneous labels 1970-1975

File Under: Jazz, Japanese Jazz, Modal, Post Bop

  • Slow Down Select - hand picked by Grover
  • 3xLP 180g Compilation
  • Double Gatefold Sleeve with Insert and OBI
  • Mastered By: Carvery
  • Pressed By: Pallas Germany


I love the first two volumes of this J Jazz series and as I am listening to Volume 3 it is another winner in every way. The selections come from private press labels up to Columbia - all of it fitting the title -"Deep Modern Jazz From Japan". The liner notes and photos are very well done with short bios on the artists - most of which you won't be familiar with, but will soon be seeking out their recordings. Be sure to pay special attention to "A Song For Hope" by Aki Takase Trio. This is another reissue that will end up on the Slow Down Sounds year end list. 

Highly Recommended! 


From BBE

BBE Music presents J Jazz volume 3, the latest in its definitive compilation series exploring the finest modern jazz from Japan.

Since the first volume in 2018, the  J Jazz compilation series has showcased some of the most creative, inspired, and sought-after jazz recorded in Japan during a golden period spanning the 1960s to the 1980s. Illustrating the richness and versatility of the composers and musicians on this collection, the music spans a wide yet coherent range of styles: samba, funk fusion, modal, spiritual, post-bop, and bossa all combine to present an aural portrait of a jazz scene that was constantly moving and shifting its multiple musical centres of gravity.

Mastered at the Grammy-nominated Carvery studio in London, many of the tracks featured are reissued for the first time, including mega-rare private press cuts from the Yasuhiro Kohno Trio, Masaru Imada Trio, and Hideyasu Terakawa Quartet. There’s heavy post modal bop by J Jazz legends Kohsuke Mine and Koichi Matsukaze; samba heat from Tatsuya Nakamura, Hideo Shiraki and Seiichi Nakamura; and funky dance floor energy by Hiroshi Murakami, Ryojiro Furusawa Quartet and Shigeharu Mukai.

 Released as a deluxe, heavyweight x3 vinyl set in a gatefold sleeve with obi strip and insert, the collection comes with extensive artist biographies and track information.  J Jazz is conceived, compiled, and annotated by Tony Higgins and Mike Peden for BBE Music.

Listen Now