Jackie McLean "It's Time" [All Analog 180g Reissue Vinyl] [Blue Note Tone Poet Series]

Label: Blue Note 1965

Format: Vinyl LP

Genre: Jazz, Post Bop, Modal

Starting in 1963 Jackie McLean went on an inspired terror releasing "Let Freedom Ring", "One Step Beyond", "Destination...Out!" and in 1965 "It's Time". This session added Herbie Hancock (who was about to record "Maiden Voyage") and Charles Tolliver on trumpet, the legend Roy Haynes remained on drums. "Das' Dat" and the tile track are standouts - the whole LP part of McLean's "new thing". I have an original first pressing which sound great as all original Blue Notes do - but Kevin Gray and Rick Hashimoto are seriously geniuses in bringing these sessions all the way back to possibly beating the originals.... for a new audience and at a price a fraction of what the originals sell for. 

Amazing music, incredible sound, and wonderful packaging! At a fair price!

The Blue Note Tone Poet Series is putting the legendary Blue Note catalog back in print in wonderful quality. We will continue to try and stock them at the lowest price possible.  


  • Slow Down Select - hand picked by Grover
  • 180g Black Vinyl - awesome sound, great value
  • Mastered By: Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Pressed By: Record Tech Inc. (R.T.I.)
  • Audio Source: Original Analog Tapes
  • Stoughton Printing Gatefold "old-style" Tip On Jacket
  • Supervised by Joe Harley

Listen Now